Syllabus – TERM I

Our Students’ Syllabus introduces you to the key areas of study, in preparation for both Minor and Major Holy Orders. As with all of St. Catherine’s Syllabuses, it is centred on non-stipendiary self-study research and is designed to last one year on average, however it may be possible to shorten or extend the term, depending on the hours you put in for study, your personal circumstances and how easily you are able to fit study around your activities, work and family life, for example.

The areas of study you will encounter in your first year focus considerably on an overview to furnish you with a good general knowledge base to start from, and at the same time enough depth, in preparation for your second year of study, which leads to Priestly Holy Orders. So you will find e.g. Theology I in the first year and Theology II in your second year.

The articulation of syllabus studies with progress through the various grades of Minor and Major Holy Orders is unique to the OCAC.

First Term Syllabus

  1. Independent Catholics – An Introduction;
  2. The Liberal Catholics Catechism;
  3. Introduction to the History of Christianity:
    • An Overview of the First Two Thousand Years,
    • The Old Catholic Apostolic Church within Historical Context,
    • The Didache, Christianity as the Apostles preached it,
    • The One Church of Jesus Christ, and the meaning of the term “Catholic” within context,
    • The One Church of Jesus Christ, the Roman Catholic perspective after “Ut Unum Sint” and how the Pontificate of Pope Saint John Paul II gives Ecumenism new significance;
    • [1] Paper submission covering any of the subjects in 1/2/3.
  4. Canon Law – Old Catholic Apostolic Church Law;
    • [2] Paper submission covering subject 4.
  5. Christian Philosophy
    • Introductory Guide to Philosophy within a Christian context, its key concepts, scholar arguments and fundamental issues,
    • Christian Philosophy – Introduction;
    • [3] Short Summary Essay submission covering subject 5.
  6. Theology – A Systematic Narrative Introduction:
    • Why study Theology;
    • The Spirit:
      • Spirit Knows,
      • Loves,
      • Is Powerful,
      • Spirit Produces What Matter Cannot,
      • Spirit Is Not in Space,
      • Spirit Is Always Itself;
    • The Infinite Spirit:
      • God Is Infinite Spirit,
      • God Is Omnipresent and Eternal,
      • God is Knowledge,
      • God is Love,
      • God is Power;
    • The Blessed Trinity:
      • Three Persons,
      • The Doctrine Outlined,
      • Mystery,
      • Not Contradiction;
    • The Three Persons:
      • Father and Son,
      • Holy Spirit,
      • Equality in Majesty,
      • Appropriation;
    • The Human Mind & The Doctrine of The Trinity:
      • Mystery,
      • Making the Doctrine Our Own,
      • God Is Love;
    • Creation:
      • All Things of Nothing,
      • Without God All Is Meaningless Matter,
      • Angels,
      • How God Created Humanity;
    • The Human Nature:
      • Soul and Body,
      • God’s Law and
      • Freedom;
    • Supernatural Life:
      • A Goal above Our Nature,
      • Sanctifying Grace,
      • Faith, Hope and Charity,
      • Supernatural Habits;
    • The Fall:
      • Fall of Angels,
      • Fall of Adam,
      • Results of Adam’s Fall,
      • How to Restore a Fallen Species?
    • The Redeemer:
      • God Became Man,
      • Our Lord as We Meet Him,
      • Christ: God and Man,
      • The Manhood;
    • Redemption:
      • Suffering and Death,
      • Passion, Resurrection and Ascension,
      • Truth,
      • Life,
      • Union;
    • The Visible Church:
      • The Structure of the Church,
      • The Church Is Catholic and Apostolic,
      • The Church Is One,
      • The Church Is Holy,
      • The Teaching of Truth;
    • The Mystical Body of Christ;
    • The Mother of God:
      • The Son Who Chose His Mother,
      • Immaculate Conception – Dogma, Infallibility and Discord,
      • Assumption,
      • Our Mother;
    • Grace, Virtues & Gifts:
      • The Moral Virtues,
      • Actual Grace,
      • The Gifts of the Holy Spirit,
      • How Grace Is Lost;
    • The Sacraments:
      • The Sacramental System,
      • The Minister,
      • How are the Sacraments Administered,
      • What the Sacraments Do,
      • Forgiveness of Sin;
    • The Eucharist and Holy Mass:
      • The Real Presence,
      • Transubstantiation,
      • Communion in One Kind,
      • The Sacrifice of the Mass;
    • The Next Life:
      • Death,
      • Hell,
      • Purgatory,
      • Heaven;
    • The End of the World
      • [4] Exam Paper Submission, covering subject 6 in any number of its 20 Key Chapters. Exam rules allow for books, notes and research material consultation during the exam. You may consult material, introduce quoted passages, subject to disclosure of the exact source i.e., work title, author, publisher and year of publication, and the page number you are quoting.
Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: